Actress Anne Hathaway Hosts 2012 Women’s Media Center Awards

Guastavino's, 409 East 59th Street, NY, NY | 11.13.2012 | by Merry Esparza & Alan Horowitz

Style 1 Media On November 13th, Academy Award-nominated actress Anne Hathaway (left) hosted the star-studded 2012 Women’s Media Awards, an annual initiative of the Women’s Media Center (WMC) to recognize individuals who have made outstanding contributions to advancing women's and girls' visibility and power in media. Co-founded by Gloria Steinem, Robin Morgan, and Jane Fonda, WMC actively works to ensure that a diverse group of women are present in all aspects of media. The 2012 Awards, held at New York's elegant Guastavino's venue, honored Paley Center for Media President/CEO, Pat Mitchell; Time Inc. Editorial Director, Martha Nelson; journalists and television hosts, Lisa Ling and Laura Ling; journalist Sarah Hoye; and writer, humorist, and social media strategist, Luvvie Ajayi.

The 2012 Women’s Media Awards were co-chaired by Gloria Steinem, Robin Morgan, and Jane Fonda, who was away on an anti-sexual violence mission in Israel and participated through an eloquent video. Also co-chairing were a team of extraordinary women—Loreen Arbus, producer, disabilities activist, Founder/Chair of Women Who Care, and the first woman to head up programming at a major US network; WMC Board Member and award-winning film and television director, Donna Deitch; WMC Board Chair Jodie Evans, environmentalist, activist. and CODEPINK Co-Founder; and WMC Board Member, author, and former NBC Anchor, Carol Jenkins.

Anne Hathaway kicked off the evening program with a warm welcome to supporters. An inspiring role model for girls and young women in media, Hathaway is confident, charismatic, dedicated, and accomplished. Her long list of television roles includes the 1999 TV series, Get Real, and her Emmy-winning voice-over performance in The Simpsons. Her film roles include The Princess Diaries, Brokeback Mountain, The Devil Wears Prada, Becoming Jane, Rachel Getting Married (for which she received an Academy Award nomination for Best Actress), Valentine's Day, Tim Burton's Alice In Wonderland, Love and Other Drugs, One Day, and The Dark Knight Rises. In 2011, she co-hosted the 83rd Academy Awards. Hathaway is involved with numerous charities and has been honored by Step Up Women's Network, Elle magazine's "Women in Hollywood" tribute, and Variety’s "Power of Women."

Following remarks by Donna Deitch and WMC President Julie Burton, the Carol Jenkins Emerging Journalists Award was presented by Carol Jenkins to CNN All Platform Journalist, Sarah Hoye, who covers regional assignments and breaking news in Philadelphia. Hoye's accomplishments include national stories about Philadelphia’s violent teen mobs, the Catholic priest sex scandal, and a doctor accused of murdering a patient and newborns. Robin Morgan presented the Social Media Award to writer, online humorist, and social media strategist, Luvvie Ajayi. In addition to her humor blog,, Ajayi is Co-Founder of the Red Pump Project, a nonprofit organization that raises awareness about the effect of HIV/AIDS on women and girls.

Gloria Steinem honored Time Inc. Editorial Director, Martha Nelson, with the WMC Going The Distance Award. A stellar career in journalism prepared Nelson for her role as head of 16 Time Inc. brands and all print and digital editors in both the Style & Entertainment and Lifestyle Groups. She was Editor of the People Group; Founding Editor of InStyle magazine; a consulting editor for the Australian Who Weekly; Editor-in-Chief of Savvy magazine and Women's Sports & Fitness; a staff editor at Ms. magazine; and Managing Editor of Signs: Journal of Women in Culture & Society. She has been honored by numerous organizations for her philanthropic and professional achievements.

A highly moving moment was Loreen Arbus's presentation of the aptly named Sisterhood is Powerful Award to journalist sisters, Lisa Ling, host of OWN's Our America with Lisa Ling, and Laura Ling, host and reporter for E! Investigates. As field correspondent for The Oprah Winfrey Show, as well as contributor to ABC News' Nightline and National Geographic's Explorer, Lisa Ling has reported from around the world, covering stories as diverse as gang rape in the Congo, bride burning in India, and the Lord's Resistance Army in Uganda.

In 2009, Laura Ling, and journalist Euna Lee unintentionally crossed into North Korea while filming a report about trafficking in women along the Chinese border. Detained by North Korea for 140 days, they were convicted of illegal entry and committing "hostile acts" against the country. They were each sentenced to 12 years of hard labor. In an effort to secure their release, former president Bill Clinton engaged in diplomatic talks with North Korea and was able to bring them home. Lisa Ling played a major role in marshaling the media to bring attention to the captive journalists' plight and helping save them. The Ling sisters' strength, integrity, and dedication to uncovering the truth, no matter how difficult or perilous, make them an inspiration to journalists and women everywhere.

The WMC inaugural Lifetime Achievement Award was presented by the legendary host of The View, Barbara Walters, to WMC Founding Co-Chair, Pat Mitchell. President and CEO of The Paley Center for Media, Mitchell has worked as a broadcast journalist, producer, reporter, and news anchor, holding prominent positions at NBC, CBS, and ABC. Her independent production company produced Emmy-winning programming focused on the issues of women and children. In 1992, she became head of Turner Original Productions and, following its merger with Time Warner, president of Time Inc. Television and CNN Productions. Programs produced under her direction have garnered 44 Emmy Awards, five Peabody Awards, and two Academy Award nominations.

The evening included tributes by Jane Fonda, Facebook COO Sheryl Sandberg, playwright/actress Sarah Jones, and former president Bill Clinton. Board Chair Jodie Evans and Anne Hathaway closed the program. Notable attendees included actors Christine Lahti, Ben Vereen, Gaby Hoffman, and Kathy Najimy; playwright Lynn Nottage; songwriter Leslie Gore; news anchor Cheryl Wills; publisher/correspondent Wendy Diamond; Bloomberg News Editor-in-Chief/Co-Founder, Matt Winkler; Sokol Media President, Lori Sokol; writer/designer Ann Dexter-Jones; photojournalist Javier Gomez; model Camilla Barungi; World Science Festival Co-Founders, journalist Tracy Day, and physicist/author/public television personality, Brian Greene; and members of the rock group, Betty Band, Amy Ziff, Elizabeth Ziff, and Alyson Palmer.

The Women’s Media Center works to promote women and girls as subjects and decision-makers within the media, training them to be media-ready and media–savvy, monitoring and exposing sexism in the media, and creating innovative new media and original content. The video, In the Beginning, tells the story of the WMC's formation, mission, and programs.

For more information about the ongoing work of The Women’s Media Center, please visit: